Last night was my first time making this meal: Baked Pork Chop over fried rice (焗豬扒飯). I didn’t realize it took so much work. Since it was my first time, I took my time to do it the right way. As usual, going off with no recipes, I experimented with ingredients here and there.

With eggs and corn, I first fried the rice. Then sautéed the mushrooms, layered it on top of rice. Next, I lightly fried the pork chops. For the sauce, I used tomatoes and onions, added other ingredients to taste (soy sauce, oyster sauce, tomato paste, sugar, salt, white pepper, black pepper, cooking wine, garlic). I poured the sauce generously over the pan of rice. Baked it in the oven for 10 minutes or so.

This meal took 1-1/2 hours to make, from preparation to finish. Now I understand there’s always a wait for this meal when ordered in restaurants. It was my first time making it, it was not to my perfection. However, my customers (kids and Mr. Piggy) absolutely loved it. They gave it a two thumbs up! That made it all worthwhile.

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.55.54 AMScreen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.56.17 AMScreen Shot 2013-12-11 at 9.56.49 AM 

p.s.

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 10.07.12 AM

