The weekend flew by mainly with the boys’ activities and homework. Luckily, having a great husband, Mr. Piggy, who also allowed me to get some time to pamper myself. Thank you.

Today, Mr. Piggy is at work, leaving me with the kids. I’ve already planned out the day for them. After the routine of practicing their music, read, do some online studying, we went to lunch, followed by a nearby park. We played a few rounds of ping pong and competed a game of basketball.

For the rest of the afternoon, the boys helped with baking butter rolls. Mr. Piggy bought a bread maker recently so I thought to give it a try. I’m definitely not a baker for I don’t have the patience. But then, I love to experiment with food, so I asked the boys to read the instructions, and pretty much let them tried it out. I think the bread machine did its job while I might have skipped a few steps. The bread came out fine, just not fluffy as I thought it would be.  In fact, I think after an hour or so, it hardened.

Oh well, bread didn’t turn out perfectly, but I enjoyed baking with the boys. Baking and cooking (the idea of them measuring the ingredients or handling the tools) give them more freedom to make their own decisions and be more independent. Now I am even more determined, to bake the bread how it should be done. I won’t give up until I get it right.  Please wait for the post!

Screen Shot 2014-01-23 at 10.56.52 AM

“Today I am thankful for the short line at Purple Kow…”

