Celebrated my niece’s 15th birthday today. Again, lots of DIY’s, including party food, her “Lazy Bone” pinata, the numbers 1 and 5, rainbow cupcakes, even the party favors. Of course, I didn’t take any picture of the DIY, because of time issue. I had to make these things without her knowing. Most of the things were done at night, so she can leave me alone!

Since she’s never participated in the tradition of hitting a piñata, she requested for one this year. Instead of making a dainty one, I made a Lazy Bone for her. Why? Well, we want to beat up the lazy bone out of her as an implication that she will learn to be more diligent and motivated! She loved it!

Screen Shot 2014-02-18 at 2.51.48 PM

For the cake, she and I baked rainbow cupcakes together yesterday. Again, forgot to take pictures.

Screen Shot 2014-02-18 at 2.52.02 PM

For party favors, I had the kids color in the sign. With the leftover heart-shaped boxes from Valentine’s, I printed “Thanks for coming to my birthday party”, cut them out in separate letters, and left it for the guests to unscramble.

Screen Shot 2014-02-18 at 2.52.16 PM

For food, I made pasta (shell pasta) with white mushroom sauce, caesar salad and croutons. One of my sisters brought over some delicious finger-licking good chicken wings.

Screen Shot 2014-02-18 at 2.52.24 PM

Decorations = $2.00

Food = $15.00

Dressing up the party girl = $4.00 (from $ store)

I think the whole party costs roughly about $20, but seeing a happy girl getting her wishes fulfilled = PRICELESS

