Letting go, bit by bit – today is the first time I let the boys walk to school by themselves (though I followed behind, without them knowing of course.) I caught up with them after a couple of blocks. For the past year or so, I don’t know how many times I’ve gone through safety rules and stranger danger with them. Always stay alert, always make good judgments when or when not to cross and always be street smart. Observing them crossing the streets, mingling with each other, I surprised myself by letting them assert their independence. Is it too young? Is it still safe? I do enjoy the walks with them every morning. Besides getting my exercise, this is a great time to bond and chat with them. For some reason, Ah Lo is very much a chatter box in the mornings which really I enjoy.

 

