Tomorrow is my lazy niece’s actual birthday. She’s turning 16 tomorrow. Sixteen, a big deal, right? She has been reminding us since last Christmas. How can I forget? At 16, let’s see what’s the trend? Why, selfies and Instagram of course!

Since she is hanging out with her friends tomorrow, I threw her a birthday party today. The theme is Instagram. Partying on a budget, I did most of the stuff myself. I made the photo frame which was surprisingly simple to make. With a foam board I purchased a couple of years ago ($1 @ dollar store), I hand painted the logo and icons (bottom of board). That was it! Luckily I had the right color paints (blue, white and black) at home. The frame was a big hit at the party. It appeared in over 50 pictures!

Screen Shot 2015-02-24 at 3.05.38 PM

She is always a fan of my home baked chocolate cakes, so I baked her a decadent chocolate cake from scratch (cake and frosting). For the cake top, I cut out an old cardboard to make it a small Insta frame. I printed some pictures off her Instagram account and hung them as a banner. For dinner, I did mini pull pork sandwiches with some vegetables on the side. And the party favors, of course, cute camera lens rice krispies, an inspiration from Pinterest. With a full time job, I was flustering with getting everything together before she came home. I was thankful for my older niece who helped me with decorations.

Screen Shot 2015-02-24 at 3.22.12 PM

Party costs breakdown (less than $25):

Dinner: $10

Cake: $4

Decorations: $5 (for the cardboard), I had most of the stuff at home

Party Favor: $2

Hugs and smiles: priceless

Screen Shot 2015-02-19 at 10.17.47 AM

