Ah Lo and I have been planning this party for weeks now. He gets very excited when we talk about it, especially during our morning walks to school. Who to invite, when is the party, what to do, how to do it. Today it’s finally here, but I was under the weather, and was not up for having a party with 15+ kids, outdoors, with not much adult supervision. Then again, I felt the need to stand strong since it would be a huge disappointment for Ah Lo if this party didn’t happen. I tried to make it as simple as possible. There was a little bump in the morning when it started to drizzle. Since this is an outdoor party, we started looking for Plan B – in our garage. Luckily, by the time when the party started, the sun came out!

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 4.11.48 PM

1) For safety reasons, I ordered goggles for everyone and gave each as party favor as well. Bought them at Amazon (with the best/most comfortable reviews). With a white board, I made sure all the boys and girls read that “they agree to play nicely and fairly with everyone” before signing their name.

2) Having a NERF gun party at the playground has its good and bad. When we got there, there were only two teenagers. The good thing is that I set up the obstacle course using the playground without doing much work. They had to slide and climb and shoot (the balloons). However, as the playground got busy, we moved onto the baseball field (which didn’t offer too much shield for them to play). I felt bad when a parent at the park had to leave because we were overcrowding the park. He commented how it was wrong for us to have this at the playground. I totally understood his concern and wished I had the chance to apologize to him. We ended up at the field which the boys and girls had no problems.

3. This was practice target shoot my niece helped me with the night before, giving something for the kids to do during the first half hour.

4. With everything in place, let the war begin!

