It’s been awhile since we went to a baby shower. My sister didn’t want to have one, so we kept it low profile. Coincidentally, my sister-in-law is also expecting! I’ve asked to work on decorations and that’s right up my alley! Here I go…

Screen Shot 2015-04-20 at 2.40.52 PM

1. I cut out baby onesies on card stocks and hung them on strings (attached to the photo frame I had years ago). – $0.

2. Right next to this, I placed a frame asking guests to leave some words of wisdom for the parents, or the new baby. – $0.

3. Since I’m the type who likes to plan ahead, my boys and I have started painting the letters last week as part of the decorations (and their gifts for their new cousin). $9 (using my 50% coupon at Michael’s)

4. Behind these block letters are diaper boxes. As part of the fun, we asked guests to bring a box of diaper to be entered into a raffle. Again, planning ahead, I’ve asked those who plan to bring a box to drop off at my place instead. With this, I don’t have to get extra boxes. I wrapped them in white paper and painted the block letters (freehand). Note that I only painted the front side. Since I knew I was going to use animals to cover the top, I saved some work there. – $0.

5. Diaper cake – I made this diaper cake using diapers and baby swaddling blankets. Towers were from toilet paper rolls and paper towels. This was very fun and easy to make and attracted much attention to the table. – $16

The decoration costs less than $20 for the whole party ($6 for the flowers). The other items purchased and used were a part of the our gift to the baby which the parents can still use. This is how I like to throw parties.

Screen Shot 2015-04-20 at 3.37.45 PM

We also asked guests to bring a onesie for the baby. The mother gets to decide which one she thinks it’s the cutest!

DSC_0277

Food wasn’t my department at this party, since the hosts decided to order out, including dessert! But, my hands were itching to make cookies. So I did, not too many, a few just for fun. The center cookie was made by my friend, who’s a professional baker!

DSC_0268

