Tonight I get to fulfill my dream as a teacher. I held a class in my house, teaching my two boys relationship within a family in chinese! Unlike how westerns greet their family with simply auntie/uncle, grandmother/grandfather, Chinese have specific title for each person related to us. For example, you would greet your father’s older brother and younger brother differently vs. uncle. Paternal and maternal side of the family have different terms as well. By referring relatives a certain way, we know precisely where they stand in the family. I learned this when I went to Chinese school ages ago. I don’t think this concept is taught in school nowadays. This is important for the younger generations to know because it’s part of Chinese culture.

1618617_10153478502444287_2509486303539307472_n IMG_9425

