Both of my boys have been studying Chinese at a local school daily for the last 5 years. I am very disappointed with their progress; therefore, I am pulling them out starting this fall and teach them myself. The teachers there are great, but the students there didn’t want to be there, so they are not motivated to learn. Anyway, I’m not sure how this works when the school starts.

Lately, I’m teaching them on my own. I tried to do sit-down course every day for half hour. I’d also like to incorporate the teaching into their daily activities. Today I brought them to Chinatown, and I taught them the different types of fruits, also showing them how to pick it.

IMG_9446

In the afternoon, we learned how to play Chinese chess together. Since I don’t know how to play, we learned it together in youtube. I taught them the different characters and what each meant.

IMG_9460

