This is our 2nd or 3rd time participating at the coastal cleanup. The last time we did this was back in 2012. This year, we dragged the two girls with us. Yes, it’s early for them too to get up so early this weekend. We spent good two hours under the blazing sun, cleaning up bits and pieces that don’t belong there. I know we only did a small part, but this volunteer work makes a difference through many meaningful and rewarding ways.

Screen Shot 2015-09-21 at 9.52.57 AM

Today the older girl is also starting off her new journey – moving out on her own. After the coastal clean up, we drove down to SJ with her. First stopped by her apartment to check what her living space would be like. Before we went crazy with shopping for her apartment necessities, we gulped down chilled drinks and escaped the heat.

Can’t believe it has been two years since we brought her in, and now she is ready to jump into a new chapter of her life and spread her wings. I know I am not the easiest person to be around, but I know I have given her my best. This new chapter allows her the chance to become more fully – her own person. I know she will do fine but I hope she stays focused. I hope she remembers why she started two years ago which will push her to continue. When it was the time to say good bye, there was an awkward moment where I realize there is nothing more to do. The car is unpacked. Her place is ready. She is ready. We simply did cheesy group hug. Now I have 3 more to go.

Screen Shot 2015-09-21 at 10.10.57 AM

