Ah Lo wanted a birthday party with his friends and family. So we had to split the event in two days. Should have combined it. What was I thinking? While the kids were watching movie (Rush Hour I) yesterday, I spent a lot of time prepping for dinner today. My biggest mistake was trying to do too much. From baking a cake for him to making the entire dinner, it was over my head. I didn’t know what I was thinking, clearly I wasn’t. I just slaved away in the kitchen making pasta with wild mushroom sauce, caesar salad, mango-coconut jelly, and garlic bread! Yes, I made my own garlic bread. It was a big hit, so I didn’t mind the work at all. Since the birthday boy doesn’t care for mushrooms, I had to make something else for the kids – beef tacos. I didn’t take pictures of the food because I wanted to make sure everyone was fed. I had the chance to snap the picture of the cake before the M&M’s started to melt.

IMG_1169

Before he went to bed, Ah Lo came over and gave me a big hug and pecked me on the cheeks, thanking me for the parties. “I know it’s a lot of work. I appreciate it.” My heart melted as quickly as the m&m’s on his cake. What work?!

