My granny nanny recently admitted to a senior home. After a couple of falls, doctors from hospital and rehab center all agree she can no longer live by herself.  On paper, she’s 110. In real life, she’s pretty close to 100. No diet restrictions and still sharp as a razor, she’s pretty amazing for her age. Looking around the senior home, she seems to be the healthiest one there!

The doctor told us after the recent fall, her balance is a bit off. In a way, I’m glad she’s residing in a senior home now. She’s been living by herself for some time now. Besides the 24/7 care, there’s definitely more social interaction now in her life. We will frequent more in the coming days to help her acclimate her new environment.

Today, I brought my boys to visit her. I had Dai Bee play piano at the senior home (with consent by nurses). Of course, he was hesitant at first. I encourage (more like forced) him to play. After a push and a nudge, the nursing home was filled with Chopin’s music. All the nurses and workers peeped in their heads to check where the music came from. He doesn’t enjoy the spotlight at all. I often tell him he has a special gift to play music. And that he should be proud of this gift, which sometimes can bring joy to others.

IMG_1684

