Taking a break today from our meatless Mondays for some homemade zong zi (粽子), traditionally eaten during the Dragon Boat Festival (端午節). My MIL made these, and they require a lot of time and work. She doesn’t like store bought ones and only eaten the ones she wrapped. According to my MIL, during her younger days, she used to make a big load and handed them out. Now, she only makes them for herself and her immediate family, which still requires days of preparation. IMG_7600

From the salty egg to the roast pork, from washing the bamboo leaves to boiling (for hours), she hands wrap each and everyone by herself.  Because we get it from her every year, I don’t normally buy them so I don’t know what others taste like. However, I must say, her zong zi is loaded with a decent amount of filling and hence, quite tasty. IMG_7603

