This is Dai Bee’s first day at the entrepreneur camp! It’s our first time enrolling in this camp. I am excited for the things he’s going to learn but not too crazy about the drive to get him there. The camp is located about 25 miles from our house, but requires 1 to 1.5 hours to get there (because of traffic). This means, I will be spending 3 hours on the road every day. Yes, we’ve tried to map out the time if he was to take public transportation, but there would be too much transfers from one bus to another. It wasn’t worth it. Luckily my job is flexible enough to allow me to work with this schedule. Thank goodness it’s only 2 weeks! When I picked him up, the first thing he said to me, “this camp is fun, I am really enjoying it” – makes everything all worthwhile, right?

The camp consists of 28 people, and it is divided into 4 groups. Each group has a company they want to work with. Everyone in the group has a role he/she plays. Dai Bee is the CFO who is in charge of the flow of funds. When he came back home, I saw how eager he was to set up a survey to market the company’s product – efficient lighting. He told me he learned so much in one day about finance and marketing, customer service, the innovation and the backbone of the company.

No, I’m not thinking that he will be start his own business after this camp! I hope he can pick up new skills that he can take with him – teamwork, thinking outside the box, negotiation, some fundamental business skills, including communications and leadership and as a bonus, experience entrepreneurialism.

IMG_8294

