Been trying to make these steamed rice rolls. I failed miserably the first time I made up. Gave up. Then my sister tried it and inspired me for a second attempt. I tried again, but failed again. So she came to my house and personally demonstrated with her recipe. After several attempts, I finally got it right. IMG_8428

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 cup of water
  • 6 tablespoons of wheat starch
  • 6 tablespoons of rice flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt

Generously oil a flat plate, pour in about 1/4 cup of the batter (really depends on how big the plate is – mine was 6 inches). Here I added some dried shrimp and green onions. Steam for exactly 3 minutes. Once the flour mixture turns white and slightly translucent, remove it from steamer. Using a rubber spatula and fold it. This requires some practice. Do it 10-20 times until you’ll get the hang of it.

 

