This Sunday was the auspicious day for my side of the family to gather for the open year dinner. Normally we would all go back home and my mom would whip up a 9- or 10-course meal. This year, I decided to take on the challenge and cook for my family of 25+ people. Instead of the 10 course meal, I went with the traditional big bowl feast – poon choi (盤菜).

food4

Basically, in any big bowl feast, you can add whatever you like. For ours, the big bowl feast includes the following ingredients. Lettuce would be the last item since it has same sound as “grow wealth.” Having it last in the bowl symbolizes that one will end the feast with wealth. Briefly blanch it because it will absorb the juices from all the ingredients.

food1food2food3

The food warmer really helped since everything was still warm when we got to the bottom of it. Yummy!

Today I am thankful for my mom cooking the mushrooms and my sister for cooking the chicken and soup!!”